Vanuatu squad announced for Niue clash

Following on from Vanuatu’s first ever Rugby League Test Match victory over Solomon Islands in Mackay last Saturday, Vanuatu have named a largely unchanged line-up for the clash this Saturday 12th October at Municipal Stadium (Stade).

The Vanuatu squad left Australia on Tuesday following their 48-30 win over the Solomon Islands. The squad was split into two with half the squad going directly back to Port Vila and the remainder of the squad travelling to Santo to assist the Santo Boars fundraising efforts to play in the curtain-raiser against Port Vila.

Four players from the victorious team are unavailable in Anthony Delaivuna, Robbie Congoo, Erick Tosusu and Javarn White. New players coming into the squad are Kunro Kalo, Nelson Law, Ben Lui, Julian Wells, Lester Kalpukai and Antonio Korikalo. The final 18 man squad will be selected on Saturday.

Captain Samuel Loloadravu was excited about this weekend’s contest “Following on from our victory last week we’re really looking forward to putting in another good performance against what will be a very strong and hungry Niue team”.

Coach David Simpson has been impressed with the squad assembled for the game “It is great to see a number of highly talented local players joining the squad and pushing for selection in the final 18 man squad”.

Niue arrive from Sydney on Thursday and will be playing in their inaugural Test Match, while Vanuatu will be playing only their 3rd and 2nd on home soil.

Tickets will be available for sale at the Post Office and Melanesian Hotel. Prices are:

Grandstand: 3,000 Vatu

General Admission (Adults): 1,000 Vatu

General Admission (U/16’s): 300 Vatu

General Admission (U/12’s): 100 Vatu

Vanuatu Squad:

Alex Marango

Alex Phillips

Antonio Korikalo

Ben Titoko

Ben Lui

Geoffry Kausei

Jason Pakaosongi

Jean-Pierez Kenie

Joey Meninga

Josh Tanner

Julian Wells

Kalpat Steadman

Kunro Kalo

Lester Kalpubai

Nelson Law

Robert Franklin

Sam Pierce

Samuel Loaloadravu

Sweeney Sablan

Tonny Lui